Road Haulage Association

Haulage Industry News

Understanding the RHA and your needs

I write this article, having just completed my first full week as the new CEO of the RHA.

I would like to thank Geoff Dunning for his support while handing over the reins of the business. Geoff has clearly been instrumental in creating a solid base upon which I can continue to build and I want to take this opportunity to wish Geoff a long and joyous retirement.

For me the process of review has started and I’m keen to really understand what makes the RHA tick, particularly from our Members’ perspectives, and where we can add further benefit and value.

I will be assessing every element of what we do and how we do it, engaging with the board of management and front line teams as well as you, the members. My objective is to develop a clear vision and strategy to take the RHA to the next level, so it is seen as the ‘leading’ trade association that represents the transport industry.

There are a number of projects that the team are currently working on, and one in particular is focussing on a new CRM (Customer Relationship Management) system that will be game changing for the RHA. In conjunction with this it is my intention to change the current website design, which is of course the shop window for our organisation, and in parallel review our PR, media and marketing strategy to ensure that we are reaching a broader audience through both national and trade press, to raise awareness about the key issues that are affecting the industry right now.

As you read through this month’s ROADWAY you will note that there are a number of articles that talk about some of the key issues that are affecting the industry right now, among them the driver shortage, focus on compliance and Driver CPC to name but a few.

Drawing on my own recent industry experience, I would also add another issue, which needs addressing, road congestion. This growing issue is one that is directly impacting on the cost of operation. I have already engaged in a number of high-level discussions with key government officials on this topic and will keep you updated as progress is made.

Coming back to the driver shortage issue for a moment, this has been well publicised, however we need to stop discussing it and start acting to find a long term solution for the industry and as our director of policy, Jack Semple, has eluded to in his update, we are working on the RHA policy to address the issue and will share our position imminently.

As I have already said in previous interviews, I feel very proud and honoured to represent the road transport industry as the CEO of the RHA and look forward to engaging with all of you over the forth coming months as I get my feet under the table to drive forward a more commercially focused association that provides outstanding value for its membership.

 

Richard Burnett

Leave a Reply

